Peregrine lander’s failure won’t stop NASA’s ambitious commercial moon program

NEW ORLEANS — It was only two days ago when Peregrine, the inaugural private lander contracted under NASA’s Commercial Lunar Payload Services program, brilliantly blasted toward space aboard the first private flight of United Launch Alliance’s Vulcan rocket.  Mere hours into the journey, Peregrine started to fail.  Astrobotic, the company behind the spacecraft, continues to … Read more

Japan’s H3 rocket will launch a 2nd time in February 2024 after explosive failure

The Japanese space agency’s H3 rocket system will return to the launchpad in early 2024 after an explosive failure this year. The H3 will launch from the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency‘s (JAXA’s) Tanegashima Space Center as soon as Feb. 14, 2024, officials said in a statement released on Wednesday (Dec. 27). The prime launch window … Read more

Blue Origin calls off 1st New Shepard rocket launch since 2022 failure due to ‘ground system issue’

Blue Origin’s first mission in more than 15 months was officially delayed on Monday (Dec. 18) after a last-minute scrub. Blue Origin‘s New Shepard suborbital vehicle was originally supposed to lift off as early as 9:30 a.m. EST (1430 GMT or 8:30 a.m. EST) on Monday. Following a one-hour delay due to cold temperatures at … Read more