The Full Cold Moon of December comes late for Christmas tonight

The final full moon of 2023, December’s Cold Full Moon, will rise on Tuesday (Dec. 26) in time to catch the festive season but just missing Christmas Day. 

According to In the Sky, the fully-illuminated Cold Moon will rise at around 3:05 p.m. EST (2005 GMT), with the sun setting at 16:33 EST (2133 GMT). The full moon will set at around 8:12 a.m. EST (1312 GMT) the following day after the sun has risen around an hour earlier at 7:16 a.m. EST (1216 GMT), meaning the Cold Moon will be visible for the entire night.